Common Use(s) of License:
To insure automobiles, water craft, homes, motorcycles, and pets. Also, used to write errors & omissions, workers compensation, and write bonds.
Related Florida Statutes:
626.015, 624.604, 624.605, and 626.726-626.754
STEPS TO OBTAIN RESIDENT 2-20 GENERAL LINES LICENSE:
Step 1 – You must be:
- A person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
Step 2 – Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Have completed a 200 hour course in property and casualty insurance, approved by the department, within 4 years of application date.
- Completed at least 1 year within the last 4 years in responsible insurance duties as a full-time employee in all lines (the areas of property, casualty, surety, health, and marine) of property and casualty insurance.
- Completed at least 1 year within the last 4 years of responsible insurance duties as a licensed and appointed Customer Representative (4-40), Personal Lines Agent (20-44), or Service Representative (0-55) and completed a 40 hour course approved by the Department in the areas of property, casualty, surety, marine and health insurance.
- Earned an insurance degree which includes least 18 semester hours of college credit in property, casualty, health, and commercial insurance from an accredited college or university.
- Become a resident of Florida, held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority for at least 1 continuous year prior to applying for a license in Florida, and submit the application for the Florida general lines license within 90 days of becoming a resident of Florida.
- Have an original letter from the American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters certifying you hold the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters (CPCU) designation.
Step 3 – Apply:
- Create a MyProfile account and answer all of the questions and pay the fees to complete online application.
Step 4 – Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Note: Once you have taken a prelicensing course, Insurance Institute of South Florida will automatically send the Bureau proof within 20 days of your passing date. This does not include designations.
Step 5 – Fingerprints:
- You must be fingerprinted.
Step 6 – Status notification(s):
- Once your application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under the pending license type.
Step 7 – Examination:
- Upon approval, an e-mail will be sent to you directing you to check your messages in your MyProfile account. Follow the message’s instructions to schedule the examination.
Step 8 – Print license:
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license. If you are required to take an examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.